100 Million and counting

The number of mobile subscribers in India is now 100 million. Motorola and Nokia are making Chennai a telecom manufacturing hub. We have come a very long way from a country where getting a land line connection used to take over 3 years.

4 Responses to “100 Million and counting”

  1. Anil Says:

    You may remember the talk we had about this at my place. I, as usual made a controversial and made a controversial saying that the Indian base, though large will have a very low ARPU (Average Revenue Per Unit) If I am not mistaken the average is about USD 5!

    Also check this out…Indian mobile market may slow down
    http://www.chennaionline.com/colnews/newsitem.asp?NEWSID=%7B725FF1CC-D279-4FD3-9586-334F97E1985F%7D&CATEGORYNAME=Business

  2. Anil Says:

    Corrected….

    You may remember the talk we had about this at my place. I, as usual made a controversial statement saying that the Indian base, though large will have a very low ARPU (Average Revenue Per User) If I am not mistaken the average is about USD 5!

    Also check this out…Indian mobile market may slow down
    http://www.chennaionline.com/colnews/newsitem.asp?NEWSID=%7B725FF1CC-D279-4FD3-9586-334F97E1985F%7D&CATEGORYNAME=Business

  3. Anil Says:

    Corrected….

    You may remember the talk we had about this at my place. I, as usual made a controversial statement saying that the Indian base, though large will have a very low ARPU (Average Revenue Per User) If I am not mistaken the average is about USD 5!

    Also check this out…Indian mobile market may slow down
    http://www.chennaionline.com/colnews/newsitem.asp?NEWSID=%7B725FF1CC-D279-4FD3-9586-334F97E1985F%7D&CATEGORYNAME=Business

    I call this the Coca Cola Effect.

  4. Anil Says:

    Corrected….

    You may remember the talk we had about this at my place. I, as usual made a controversial statement saying that the Indian base, though large will have a very low ARPU (Average Revenue Per User) If I am not mistaken the average is about USD 5-8!

    Also check this out…Indian mobile market may slow down
    http://www.chennaionline.com/colnews/newsitem.asp?NEWSID=%7B725FF1CC-D279-4FD3-9586-334F97E1985F%7D&CATEGORYNAME=Business

    I call this the Coca Cola Effect.

Leave a Reply

